التجديف في النهر: أطلق العنان لذهنك في البرية في النرويج

هل تبحث عن شيء خارج عن المألوف يتحدى عقلك وجسدك وروحك؟ هل تتوق إلى تجربة جزء لا يصدق من النرويج من منظور لا يراه الآخرون؟ هل تريد البلل ، وركوب الأمواج ، وتعلم كيفية التنقل في المياه البيضاء؟ ثم اجلس ، واربط تنورتك ، وتمسك بإحكام: التجديف بالكاياك في النهر في فوس ، النرويج ، قد يكون مجرد هوايتك الجديدة.
التجديف بالكاياك النهرية

بعض الحركة النموذجية عند ركوب قوارب الكاياك الترادفية.

بالنسبة للكثيرين ، الكلمة التجديف يستحضر صورة خلابة لأشخاص يسترخون في الطبيعة ، أو يبحرون على طول شاطئ المحيط أو يسبحون على مهل على بحيرة محلية. ولكن هناك شكل آخر من أشكال التجديف بالكاياك ، وهو أقل شهرة لدى الجمهور ، وهو رياضة تتطلب الكثير من المتطلبات تتم في الأنهار والأودية الضيقة والمياه العاصفة. يعود تاريخ النشاط إلى أكثر من 8,000 عام ، ولكنه لم يكن حتى عام 1907 عندما تم تحسين صلابة النموذج الغربي باستخدام نظام الرافعة. بين عشية وضحاها ، ولأول مرة في التاريخ المسجل ، كان لدى الناس قارب متين بدرجة كافية تحت أقدامهم مما يسمح لهم باستكشاف أقسام خطيرة من المياه البرية لم ترها عيون البشر من قبل.

بعد مرور أكثر من 100 عام ، اصطحب نفسك إلى فوس ، النرويج ، وستجد نفسك تحدق في أحد أفضل أنهار شمال أوروبا لممارسة الرياضات المائية: راوندالسيلفين. الآن هو ملعب رائع من أقسام مختلفة ، يجذب النهر بعضًا من أعظم زوارق الكاياك في العالم على مدار العام. تتغذى من الروافد المحيطة ، والتي تتغذى بدورها من قبل عمالقة جبلية متعددة ، يتدفق النهر بقوة وباردة ونقية ، مما يوفر الأمواج وحفر اللعب والشلالات لأولئك الذين يزورون.

التجديف بالكاياك في نهر التجديف

مجداف مجداف!

Outdoor Norway يقدم ثلاثة خيارات للتجديف بالكاياك لمساعدتك على استكشاف الجمال البري لنهر فوس بأمان وأصالة قدر الإمكان. الأول هو تجربة قوارب الكاياك ليوم واحد حيث يمكنك تعلم جميع الأساسيات اللازمة لمساعدتك على التنقل في منحدرات منخفضة الجودة وتدفقات المبتدئين. الخيار الثاني هو دورة لمدة يومين ، حيث تتاح لك الفرصة للتعمق في التقنيات والتحديات واللغة والمعرفة التي تأتي مع القراءة والتعامل مع الأنهار. الخيار الثالث هو جولة ترادفية بصحبة مرشد ، تستغرق حوالي 3 ساعات في قوارب الكاياك المزدوجة جنبًا إلى جنب مع مرشد محترف. سواء كنت تميل نحو تجربة مثيرة أو تعليمية ، Outdoor Norway على استعداد لإرشادك على الطريق الأقل حركة.

في الأسبوع الماضي ، أتيحت لي الفرصة للسباحة في هذا المسار الأقل حركة عندما انضممت إلى تجربة قوارب الكاياك بعد العمل مع الفريق. كان رفيقي الترادفي هو المدير الأول لـ Good Times ، Marcio ، الذي جعلني أشعر بالثقة والراحة كأنني هذه هي المرة الأولى لي على الإطلاق في قوارب الكاياك النهرية كاياكر. بعد ارتداء البدلة ، أخذنا رحلة جميلة ورائعة في الوادي إلى نقطة الدخول الأولى. قمنا بفحص معدات السلامة لدينا مرتين ، وتمرننا على ما يتعين علينا القيام به في حالة قلبنا ، وأكدنا تموضع الجسم وتقنية التجديف. بعد ما بدا أنه بضع ثوانٍ فقط ، ذهبنا متعرجًا أسفل النهر.

التجديف في نهر الشلال

شعور لا يصدق عند تجربة قوة النهر لأول مرة.

سرعان ما أدركت أن التجديف بالكاياك وركوب الدراجات في الجبال يتطلب الكثير من نفس الأسلوب. انحني في المنعطف ، ثبّت جذعك ، ارخي كتفيك ، لا داعي للذعر ، اختر خطك ، وثق في حدسك. بالطبع ، كانت أصعب الأعمال والاختيارات تأتي من دليلي ، لكن وجودي كان مع ذلك ضروريًا لنا لكي نجتاز كل قطرة وبسرعة. من أهم الأشياء التي تعلمتها على النهر سواء التجديف بالكاياك أو rafting، هي الأهمية الحاسمة للتجديف: إذا لم تستطع السفر أسرع من النهر فسوف يلتهمك.

بحلول الوقت الذي وصلنا فيه إلى نقطة الانسحاب الأولى ، كان جسدي دافئًا تمامًا وكنت أبتسم من الأذن إلى الأذن. شعرت حقًا أنني كنت أتعلم كيفية العمل مع النهر ، وليس ضده. لقد استدارنا وضربنا الجيوب ، وبشكل حرفي تصفح أمواج. لذلك عندما حان الوقت للوصول إلى القسم الثاني ، كنت أكثر من جاهز. من خلال خلط سريع للمعدات والأفراد ، وصلنا قريبًا إلى نقطة التشغيل التالية.

عندما قمنا بتحميل القوارب في الماء ، علمت على الفور أننا قد تقدمنا ​​بخطوة في الصعوبة. شعرت طاقة النهر بالفوضى وغير المنضبط. هنا ، لم يكن من الممكن تجنب المياه البيضاء أو الأمواج. هنا ، أنت بحاجة إلى الوضوح العقلي الكامل والتفاني. لكن تذكيرًا لنفسي بأن النمو الشخصي الحقيقي يحدث خارج مناطق الراحة لدينا ، فقد ارتديت أفضل زوج من البنطلونات الكبيرة ، وأخبرت نفسي أنني أكثر من قادرة ، وعقدت العزم على التغلب على مخاوفي لتجربة النهر كما لم يحدث من قبل. .

موجات التجديف النهرية

وجه نموذجي أنا على وشك ابتلاع الكثير من الماء.

عندما أطلقنا أنفسنا في القسم الثاني ، شعرت بقوة الماء الذي يبني تحتنا. للوصول إلى جوهر الموضوع ، أُعطيت توجيهات واضحة حول ما أحتاجه للاستعداد له: جدف بقوة ، وحافظ على وزنك للأمام ، واستعد لركوب الموج. دخلنا التيار وشاهدت زملائي يختفون واحدًا تلو الآخر. عندما وصل أنف القارب الخاص بنا إلى ذروته على حافة القطرة ، رأيت الأمواج في الأسفل ولم أصدق أن النهر يمكن أن يخلق مثل هذه القوة والقوة الخام.

شعرت الثواني القليلة التالية وكأنها ألف. لا يزال بإمكاني رؤية الأمواج فوق رأسي ، وأطرافها تتلوى في ظلال من اللونين الأزرق والأبيض. لا يزال بإمكاني سماع زئير الماء المدوي ، بصوت عالٍ لدرجة أنه خلق نوع الصمت الخاص به. ومع ذلك ، وبطريقة ما ، وعلى الرغم من كل الفوضى ، شعر العالم بالثبات ، مما أتاح لي فرصة قصيرة ونادرة لرؤية جمال الطبيعة دون أن يمسها أحد ولا ينقطع.

التجديف بالكاياك في نهر سبلاش

ضربة نقود!

بعد أن أطلقت الأمواج علينا مثل بذور البطيخ ، أعادتني صيحات مارسيو وفتحاتها إلى الأرض ، مما ساعد على استقرار السحر غير المفهوم للتجربة. وحتى الآن ، بعد أن كان لديك متسع من الوقت للتفكير في التجربة ، من الصعب اعثر على الكلمات المناسبة لوصف وقتي على النهر.

ربما يأتي الصراع من قضاء القليل من الوقت مع هذا العنصر ، لكن ما رأيته في أعين الآخرين تحدث بصوت أعلى من أي كلمة. من بين كل شيء أخذته من تجربتي في قوارب الكاياك الترادفية ، فإن الشعور الذي يبرز باعتباره الأقوى هو هذا: أعتقد أن هناك نوعًا من الحقيقة مخبأة تحت الأمواج ، وأنا أوصيك بشدة أن تجد الوقت لاكتشافها بنفسك.

منحدرات وايت ووتر للتجديف بالكاياك

تجربة رائعة مع أناس رائعين.

Sea Kayak Courses, Guided Kayak in Voss, Kayaking in Norway, Kayak Courses in Norway, Whitewater kayak courses

RIVER KAYAKING: BLOW YOUR MIND IN WILD NORWAY

Are you looking for something out of the ordinary that will challenge your mind, body and spirit? Are you yearning to experience an incredible part of Norway from a perspective hardly seen by others? Do you want to get wet, ride waves, and learn to navigate whitewater? Then sit down, fasten your skirt, and hold on tight: river kayaking in Voss, Norway, may just be your new hobby.
tandem river kayaking

Some typical splash-action when riding a tandem kayak.

For many, the word kayaking conjures up a picturesque image of people relaxing out in nature, cruising along the ocean shore or floating leisurely on a local lake. But another form of kayaking, much less known to the public, is a demanding sport that takes place in rivers, narrow canyons and raging whitewater. The history of the activity dates back over 8,000 years, but it wasn’t until 1907 when the rigidity of the westernized-model was improved with a lever system. Seemingly overnight, for the first time in recorded history, people had a durable enough boat beneath their feet that would allow them to explore dangerous sections of wild waters never before seen by human eyes.

Fast forward over 100 years, bring yourself to Voss, Norway, and you will find yourself staring at one of Northern Europe’s best rivers for whitewater sports: Raundalselven. Now a glorious playground of varying sections, the river attracts some of the world’s greatest kayakers, year-round. Fed by the surrounding tributaries, which are in turn fed by multiple mountain giants, the river runs strong, cold and crisp, providing waves, play-holes and waterfalls for those who visit.

paddling river kayaking

Paddle paddle paddle!

Outdoor Norway offers three kayaking options to help you explore the wild beauty of Voss’s rivers as safely, and authentically, as possible. The first is a one-day kayak experience where you can learn all the basics needed to help you navigate low-grade rapids and beginner flows. The second option is a two-day course, where you get the opportunity to dive deeper into the techniques, challenges, language and knowledge that comes with reading and tackling rivers. The third option is a guided tandem tour, lasting around 3 hours in a double kayak alongside a professional guide. Whether you are leaning towards a thrilling experience, or an educational one, Outdoor Norway is ready to guide you down the path less traveled.

Last week, I had the opportunity to swim down this less-traveled path when I joined a kayak experience after work with the team. My tandem companion was Chief Director of Good Times, Marcio, who made me feel confident and comfortable as a this-is-my-first-time-ever-in-a-river-kayak kayaker. After suiting up, we took a beautiful and scenic drive up the valley to the first put-in point. We double checked our safety gear, rehearsed what we needed to do in case we flipped, and confirmed body positioning and paddle technique. After what seemed to be only a few quick seconds, we went hurdling down the river.

waterfall river kayaking

An incredible feeling when experiencing the power of a river for the first time.

I quickly realized that river kayaking and mountain biking require much of the same technique. Lean into the turn, stabilize your core, relax your shoulders, don’t panic, choose your line, trust your gut. Of course, the hardest work and choices were coming from my guide, but my presence was nonetheless necessary for us to make it through each drop and rapid. One of the most important things I learned on the river, whether kayaking or rafting, is the critical importance of paddling: if you cannot travel faster than the river it will eat you up.

By the time we reached the first pull-out point, my body was well-warmed through and I was smiling ear-to-ear. I truly felt like I was learning how to work with the river, and not against it. We had turned, hit pockets, and literally surfed waves. So when the time had come to hit the second section, I was more than ready. With a quick shuffle of equipment and people, we were soon at the next put-in point.

As we loaded the boats into the water, I immediately knew we had taken a step up in difficulty. The energy of the river felt chaotic and uncontrolled. Here, it was not possible to avoid whitewater or waves. Here, you needed full mental clarity and dedication. But reminding myself that real personal growth occurs outside of our comfort zones, I pulled on my best pair of big-girl pants, told myself that I was more than capable, and resolved to overcome my fears to experience the river like I never have before.

waves river kayaking

A typical i’m-about-to-swallow-a-lot-of-water face.

As we launched ourselves down the second section, I could feel the power of the water building beneath us. Reaching the crux, I was given clear directions on what I needed to prepare for: Paddle hard, keep your weight forward, prepare to ride the wave. We entered the current and I watched my colleagues disappear, one by one. As the nose of our kayak peaked over the edge of the drop, I saw the waves below and could not believe a river could create such raw power and force.

The next few seconds felt like a thousand. I can still see the waves above my head, their tips curling over in shades of blue and white. I can still hear the thunderous roar of water, so loud it created its own type of silence. Yet somehow, despite all the commotion, the world felt still, giving me a brief and rare opportunity to see nature’s beauty unfiltered, untouched and uninterrupted.

splash river kayaking

Money shot!

After the waves spit us out like watermelon seeds, the hoots and hollers of Marcio brought me back down to earth, helping the incomprehensible magic of the experience settled in. Even now, having had ample time to reflect on the experience, it feels difficult to find the right words to describe my time on the river.

Perhaps the struggle comes from having spent so little time with this element, but what I have seen in the eyes of others has spoken louder than any words. From everything I have taken away from my tandem kayak experience, the feeling that stands out as the strongest is this: I believe there is some type of truth hidden beneath the waves, and I strongly recommend you find the time to discover it for yourself.

rapids whitewater kayaking

An incredible experience with incredible people.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.